Skip to content

Hairitage Fry No More

A leave-in heat protectant spray with argan oil and rice protein, stated to 450 °F and usable on wet or dry hair.

Hairitage Fry No More heat protectant spray bottle

Hairitage Fry No More

A leave-in heat protectant spray with argan oil and rice protein, stated to 450 °F and usable on wet or dry hair.

Stated ceiling
450 °F — the same as seven others here
Price
$8.94 — the cheapest on this shelf
Named ingredients
Argan oil, rice protein
Application
Wet or dry hair — see below
Format
Leave-in spray
Claims
Cruelty-free, environmentally friendly
Volume
Not published
Application distance
Not published
Hold
Not stated
Film-forming agent
Not named
Degree of protection
Not published
UV filters
Not claimed
Color-safe
Not stated
Study or evidence
None cited
Amazon reference
B0DS3T9X5N
EAN
0840797163508
  • The lowest price on this shelf by a few cents, with the same stated ceiling
  • It names two actual ingredients, where the most expensive item here names none
  • "Wet or dry" is the wrong instruction, and it is the one that matters most

Best for: A cheap base layer, applied to dry hair despite what the bottle says

≈ $9
Check price on Amazon

Specifications

Stated ceiling
450 °F — the same as seven others here
Price
$8.94 — the cheapest on this shelf
Named ingredients
Argan oil, rice protein
Application
Wet or dry hair — see below
Format
Leave-in spray
Claims
Cruelty-free, environmentally friendly
Volume
Not published
Application distance
Not published
Hold
Not stated
Film-forming agent
Not named
Degree of protection
Not published
UV filters
Not claimed
Color-safe
Not stated
Study or evidence
None cited
Amazon reference
B0DS3T9X5N
EAN
0840797163508

What the maker puts in writing

  • “PROTECT YOUR HAIR FROM HEAT DAMAGE - Hairitage Fry No More Heat Protectant Spray is formulated to protect your hair from heat styling tools up to 450°F. Contains argan oil and rice protein to provide hydration.”
  • “LEAVE-IN FORMULA FOR CONVENIENT STYLING - Say goodbye to multiple products for heat protection, hydration, and conditioning.”
  • “ENRICHED WITH ARGAN OIL & RICE PROTEIN - argan oil, known for its moisturizing properties, and rice protein which helps strengthen and repair damaged hair.”
  • “IDEAL FOR ALL HAIR TYPES - Whether you have curly or straight hair, thick or thin strands… It can be used on wet or dry hair before blow drying or using any hot styling tools.”
  • “CRUELTY-FREE AND ENVIRONMENTALLY FRIENDLY”
  • From the description: “lightweight formula won’t weigh down your hair or leave any sticky residue behind”, “Simply spritz onto damp or dry hair before using hot tools”

“Wet or dry” is the wrong instruction

“It can be used on wet or dry hair before blow drying or using any hot styling tools.”

Water is the damage mechanism, which makes this the one instruction on this shelf that matters most.

What heat actually does to hair.

Hair holds water inside the shaft.

When a flat iron or a curling wand touches it, that internal water can pass 100 °C (212 °F) and flash to steam inside the hair — and the steam has nowhere to go but outward, through the cortex.

It blows microscopic cavities in the fiber. That is the damage pattern known as bubble hair, and it is the worst thing a hot tool does.

So the most protective instruction any of these products could give is: dry the hair first.

How the shelf divides.

Bumble and bumble, $17.00 — correct and explicit: “This mist protects dried hair against heat tools” OGX, $10.47 — the only two-stage instruction here, and the right one: “apply on damp hair from mid-length to ends (avoiding roots) before blow-drying; then apply on dry hair before curling or straightening” Moroccanoil, $15.00 — “may be used on damp or dry hair”, and uniquely a dry-spray application “on second-day hair for hot-tool touch-ups” this — “wet or dry” And the other five — no application instruction at all

The OGX distinction is the one to borrow: a blow dryer held at a distance is a different thermal event from 200 °C (392 °F) plates clamped onto a strand.

Why the error here is understandable and still an error.

A leave-in on wet hair is normal — that is how most leave-in conditioners are used, and this page sells itself as a combined protectant, hydrator and conditioner, so wet application is natural for two of its three jobs.

The problem is the third.

Spraying this on wet hair and then reaching for a flat iron is the worst available sequence — and the bullet puts “before blow drying or using any hot styling tools” in the same breath as “wet or dry”, which explicitly permits it.

The practical reading: use it on dry hair before any iron or wand. As a leave-in on wet hair before blow-drying it is defensible, and then reapply when the hair is dry if you are going to iron it — which is what the OGX page tells you to do and this one does not.

Argan oil and rice protein, and only one of them is doing the job named

“argan oil, known for its moisturizing properties, and rice protein which helps strengthen and repair damaged hair”

Read what each ingredient is credited with on this page: the oil for moisturizing, the protein for strengthening and repairing.

Neither is credited with blocking heat — which is accurate, and worth noticing. The page does not claim what it cannot.

What actually slows heat transfer: a film.

A heat protectant works by leaving a thin continuous layer over the cuticle that conducts heat more slowly than the hair does and — more importantly — slows the escape of water, so the internal water heats less abruptly and the steam damage is reduced.

The film-formers that do this in most commercial heat protectants are silicones.

And not one page on this shelf names a silicone, or any film-forming agent at all.

That is the shelf’s largest collective silence: nine products sold on a protective mechanism, and none says what forms the protective layer.

Why oil is the wrong candidate for that job.

Oil conducts heat. It does not insulate.

A film of oil on a strand transfers heat into the hair rather than holding it off — and oils have smoke points, so at 230 °C (446 °F) an oil on a plate is being cooked rather than protecting anything.

Three of the nine pages here lead with argan oil: this one, the Moroccanoil at $15.00 (“Infused with Argan oil”, plus panthenol) and the TYMO at $16.99 (“Argan oil-infused essence”).

Which is selling the wrong mechanism, however good the oil is for conditioning.

Why protein is the better story, though still not insulation.

Protein patches a damaged cuticle. A smoother, better-filled cuticle holds water in and resists mechanical abrasion, which genuinely reduces the damage a hot tool does.

It is repair and reinforcement rather than a thermal barrier.

The shelf’s proteins: rice protein here, “smart binding hair proteins” on the OGX at $10.47, a “Honey Protective Complex” on the Bumble at $17.00, hydrolyzed keratin on the TYMO at $16.99, and “protein science” and “STYLEPROTECT Technology” on the Nexxus at $13.99.

So the honest summary of this bottle: a conditioning leave-in with a protein that helps the fiber and an oil that helps the feel, under a heat-protection headline whose mechanism is not described.

At $8.94 that is a reasonable thing to buy. It is not the same as knowing how much protection you are getting.

Four hundred and fifty degrees, which eight pages share

“protect your hair from heat styling tools up to 450°F”

The shelf.

450 °F — this at $8.94, the L’Oreal Paris at $8.99, the OGX at $10.47, the CHI at $13.99, the Nexxus at $13.99, the Moroccanoil at $15.00 (as 450 °F / 230 °C), the TYMO at $16.99, the Bumble and bumble at $17.00 No temperature at all — the Living Proof at $34.00, the most expensive item here

What it means that eight brands across a price range of twice over publish an identical ceiling.

450 °F is not a specification. It is a convention.

And the convention has an obvious origin: 450 °F is the maximum setting of nearly every consumer flat iron sold.

So “protects up to 450°F” is a statement about the tool rather than the product. It says: whatever your iron can do, this is sold for it — a compatibility claim dressed as a performance figure.

A number that nine products at a four-fold price range all share is a number that cannot help you choose between them.

What is missing from every page here is the degree of protection.

Nothing on this shelf publishes how much cooler the hair runs, what proportion of damage is prevented at a stated temperature, how long the film lasts, or how many passes of an iron it survives.

“Up to 450 °F” is a ceiling with no measurement underneath it.

The weightlessness promise, which nine of nine make

“lightweight formula won’t weigh down your hair or leave any sticky residue behind”

Every item on this shelf makes a version of this claim, which tells you what the category’s real failure is.

CHI, $13.99 — “non-greasy spray instantly absorbs without buildup” Nexxus, $13.99 — “no sticky buildup or flakes”, and “helps prevent static” TYMO, $16.99 — “Different from other greasy and crunchy hair oil” Moroccanoil, $15.00 — “Weightless formula”, “no hold” OGX, $10.47 — “weightless”, “without weighing down hair” L’Oreal Paris, $8.99 — “ultra lightweight” Bumble, $17.00 and Living Proof, $34.00 — lightweight and fine-mist claims this — won’t weigh down, no sticky residue

When nine of nine promise the same thing, the promise stops distinguishing them and starts describing the risk.

Buildup is the real failure of a heat protectant, and it has a cause worth knowing: too much product, or product applied too close.

Which is why the one page that publishes an application distance is doing something the rest are not.

OGX, $10.47 — “Holding 6.5 fl oz continuous mist spray bottle 6-8 inches away from hair”

Too close and you deposit a wet patch rather than a film — and a wet patch is both the sticky residue every page disclaims and a worse thermal situation, because it is water sitting on a strand you are about to heat.

A film only forms if the mist is even, and evenness is a function of distance.

This page says “simply spritz” and gives no distance, which is the gap behind its own no-residue promise.

What is not published

No volume. One page on this shelf publishes one: the OGX at $10.47, “6.5 fl oz”. The Bumble and bumble at $17.00 says “Mini Travel Size”, which tells you it is small. Without volumes, $8.94 and $34.00 cannot be compared at all — and on a spray, price per ounce is the whole of the value question. This being the cheapest bottle on the shelf means nothing until the size is known.

No application distance, as above.

No film-forming agent, as above — the shelf-wide silence.

No degree of protection, as above.

No hold statement. One page on this shelf settles it, and settles it twice: the Moroccanoil at $15.00 — “Weightless, no-hold spray blends seamlessly into any existing styling regimen”, and “contains no hold”. The Living Proof at $34.00 claims the opposite: “Enduring Style: Maintains style for extended periods.” This is a genuine fork rather than a detail: a protectant WITH hold is also a styling product, and it interferes with whatever you apply after it; a no-hold one is a base layer that disappears under your routine. Seven pages, including this one, do not say which they are.

No UV filters. One item on this shelf claims them: the Bumble and bumble at $17.00 — “Added UV Filters help protect hair against the drying effects of the sun.” It is the only additional protective claim anywhere here.

No color-safety statement. Two pages make one: the Bumble at $17.00 (“Color Safe”) and the Nexxus at $13.99 (“protects vibrancy after styling”). It matters on a product used before an iron, because heat is what lifts color.

No study, trial or evidence of any kind. Two pages cite something: the OGX at $10.47 with three footnoted figures whose footnote text does not appear, and the Nexxus at $13.99 with “89% agree hair felt moisturized In a salon study with 45 consumers on 11.3.2021” — a sample size, a date, and a measure that announces itself as perception rather than strength.

No free-from list beyond the cruelty-free claim. Three pages publish one: the L’Oreal Paris at $8.99 (“sulfate free, paraben free, dye free”), the CHI at $13.99 (“cruelty-free, paraben-free, & sulfate-free”) and the OGX at $10.47 (“formulated without dyes or parabens”).

No scent description, where two pages describe theirs at length and in strikingly similar terms: the TYMO at $16.99 (“spicy amber and musk with sweet florals”) and the Moroccanoil at $15.00 (“spicy amber aromas and sweet floral notes”).

And “environmentally friendly” is the one claim here with nothing behind it at all — no packaging statement, no refill, no certification, no ingredient sourcing. Cruelty-free is at least a definable term; environmentally friendly, unqualified, is not.

Availability

Read on the day this page was built: $9 at the American Amazon shop.

Read from Keepa on the day this page was last revised; stock and price both move without notice.

Prices quoted in this text were read on 2026-10-05. The live price is at the top of the page.

What people ask about this

Should you really use it on wet hair?

No — and this is the most consequential error on this shelf, because water is the actual damage mechanism. The claim: "It can be used on wet or dry hair before blow drying or using any hot styling tools." What heat does to hair, which no page on this shelf explains. Hair holds water inside the shaft. When a flat iron or a curling wand touches it, that internal water can pass 100 °C (212 °F) and FLASH TO STEAM inside the hair — and the steam has nowhere to go but outward, through the cortex. It blows microscopic cavities in the fiber. That is the damage pattern known as bubble hair, and it is the single worst thing a hot tool does. Which means the most protective instruction any of these products could give is: dry the hair first. How the shelf divides on it. Bumble and bumble, $17.00 — correct and explicit: "This mist protects DRIED hair against heat tools." OGX, $10.47 — the only two-stage instruction here, and it is the right one: "apply on damp hair from mid-length to ends (avoiding roots) before blow-drying; then apply on dry hair before curling or straightening." That distinction is exactly right: a blow dryer at a distance is a different thermal event from 200 °C (392 °F) plates clamped onto a strand. Moroccanoil, $15.00 — "may be used on damp or dry hair", and uniquely offers a dry-spray application "on second-day hair for hot-tool touch-ups" this — "wet or dry" And the other five publish no application instruction at all. Why the error is understandable and still an error. A leave-in on wet hair is a normal thing: that is how most leave-in conditioners are used, and this page sells itself as a combined protectant, hydrator and conditioner, so wet application is natural for two of its three jobs. The problem is the third. Spraying this on wet hair and then reaching for a flat iron is the worst sequence available — and the bullet puts "before blow drying or using any hot styling tools" in the same breath as "wet or dry", so it explicitly permits it. The practical reading: use it, and use it on dry hair before any iron or wand. If you want it as a leave-in on wet hair before blow-drying, that is defensible — a dryer held at a distance does not clamp heat into a strand the way plates do — but then reapply when the hair is dry if you are going to iron it, which is what the OGX page tells you to do and this one does not.

Does argan oil protect against heat?

Not by insulating, which is what the word "protectant" implies — and three of the nine pages here lead with it. The claims: "ENRICHED WITH ARGAN OIL & RICE PROTEIN - Our unique blend... includes argan oil, known for its moisturizing properties, and rice protein which helps strengthen and repair damaged hair." Read what each ingredient is actually credited with on this page: argan oil for Moisturizing, rice protein for STRENGTHENING AND REPAIRING. Neither is credited with blocking heat, which is accurate and worth noticing — the page does not claim what it cannot. What actually slows heat transfer. A FILM. A heat protectant works by leaving a thin continuous layer over the cuticle that conducts heat more slowly than the hair does and, more importantly, slows the escape of water — so the internal water heats less abruptly and the steam damage is reduced. The film-formers that do this in most commercial heat protectants are silicones. And not one page on this shelf names a silicone, or any film-forming agent at all. Which is the shelf’s largest collective silence: nine products sold on a protective mechanism, and none of them says what forms the protective layer. Why oil is the wrong candidate for that job. Oil CONDUCTS heat. It does not insulate. A film of oil on a strand transfers heat into the hair rather than holding it off — and oils have smoke points, so at 230 °C (446 °F) an oil on a plate is being cooked rather than protecting anything. Which is why the pages that lead with argan oil are selling the wrong mechanism, however good the oil is for conditioning. Three do: this one, the Moroccanoil at $15.00 ("Infused with Argan oil", plus panthenol), and the TYMO at $16.99 ("Argan oil-infused essence"). Why protein is a different and better story, though still not insulation. Protein — rice protein here, "smart binding hair proteins" on the OGX at $10.47, a "Honey Protective Complex" on the Bumble at $17.00, hydrolyzed keratin on the TYMO at $16.99 — patches a damaged cuticle. A smoother, better-filled cuticle holds water in and resists mechanical abrasion, which genuinely reduces the damage a hot tool does. It is repair and reinforcement rather than a thermal barrier. So the honest summary of this bottle: a conditioning leave-in with a protein that helps the fiber and an oil that helps the feel, sold under a heat-protection headline whose mechanism is not described. At $8.94 that is a reasonable thing to buy. It is not the same as knowing how much protection you are getting — which no page on this shelf tells you.

What does 450 degrees actually promise?

Less than it appears, because at least eight of the eleven items on this shelf claim exactly the same figure. The claim: "formulated to protect your hair from heat styling tools up to 450°F." The shelf. 450 °F — this at $8.94, the L’Oreal Paris at $8.99, the OGX at $10.47, the CHI at $13.99, the Nexxus at $13.99, the Moroccanoil at $15.00 (given as 450 °F / 230 °C), the TYMO at $16.99 and the Bumble and bumble at $17.00 No temperature at all — the Living Proof at $34.00, the most expensive item here What it means that eight brands between $8.94 and $17.00 publish an identical ceiling. 450 °F is not a specification. It is a convention. And it is a convention with an obvious origin: 450 °F is the maximum setting of nearly every consumer flat iron sold. So "protects up to 450°F" is a statement about the TOOL rather than about the product — it says "whatever your iron can do, this is sold for it", which is a compatibility claim dressed as a performance figure. A number that nine products at a four-fold price range all share is a number that cannot help you choose between them. What is missing, on every page here: the DEGREE of protection. Nothing on this shelf publishes how much cooler the hair runs, what proportion of damage is prevented at a stated temperature, how long the film lasts, or how many passes of an iron it survives. "Protects up to 450 °F" is a ceiling without a measurement underneath it — and the honest comparison would be a temperature reduction or a damage figure at a named setting, which no brand here gives. The two pages that come nearest to evidence, and the quieter one is better. OGX, $10.47 — "makes hair six times stronger and provides 80% less breakage", "saves 5,800 hair strands from breaking each month", each carrying a footnote marker whose text does not appear on the page Nexxus, $13.99 — "89% agree hair felt moisturized In a salon study with 45 consumers on 11.3.2021" Nexxus promises less and names more: a sample size, a date, and a measure that announces itself as PERCEPTION rather than strength. This page cites nothing at all, which at $8.94 is at least consistent with its price.

All heat protection