Skip to content

BaByliss AS122E review

A four-in-one hot air brush: a 38 mm (1.50 in) thermal brush for volume, 25 mm (0.98 in) firm-bristle and 20 mm (0.79 in) soft-bristle brushes for shorter styles, and a smoothing attachment, on 1200 watts with three heat settings and a cool shot.

Where it leaves us Four heads across three barrel diameters, where the Rowenta and the Remington carry two — with the rotation question left open by the maker.

Twelve hundred watts, three heat settings and a cool shot, with four attachments: a 38 mm (1.50 in) thermal brush for volume and shape, a 25 mm (0.98 in) with firm bristles, a 20 mm (0.79 in) with soft bristles for shorter styles, and a smoothing head for a sleek finish.

The three diameters are what put this at the top of the brush family here. Barrel size decides what a hot air brush can physically do, and short hair simply cannot be turned on a 50 mm (1.97 in) barrel.

BaByliss states a ceramic coating with an ionic function, and a three-year warranty. What the listing does not state is whether the brush heads rotate — a specification the Remington and the Rowenta in this group both publish. That field is left empty rather than assumed.

Against the shelf, the attachment count is the whole case. Four heads across three diameters, where the Rowenta and the Remington each carry two barrels and the American brushes carry one apiece — the $140 TQCIR excepted, which is an eight-piece set. Twelve hundred watts is the highest figure stated by any of the four European brushes here; the Rowenta and the Remington give a thousand each and the oval Revlon gives none. What stops this being the obvious pick is the blank beside rotation, which both of the other two fill, and the blank beside price: six of the ten brushes on this shelf publish one, from $27 to $140, and not one of the four European references does.

Prices quoted in this text were read on 2026-08-22. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where this model is listed

A listing is not an offer: the reference exists on these stores, availability changes daily.

  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Spain
  • United Kingdom

The good points, and the rest

Strengths

  • Three barrel diameters plus a smoothing head, against two barrels each on the Rowenta and the Remington
  • The most power of the brushes that publish a wattage: 1200 W against 1000 W for the Remington and the Rowenta
  • A cool shot, which the two cheaper brushes in this group do not list
  • A three-year warranty, stated on the listing

Compromises

  • BaByliss does not state whether the brushes rotate — the Remington and the Rowenta here do
  • No live offer on amazon.com at the time of writing — six of the ten brushes here publish a price
  • No offer on the US market at the time of writing

Specifications

Power1200 W
Attachments38 mm (1.50 in) thermal brush, 25 mm (0.98 in) firm bristles, 20 mm (0.79 in) soft bristles, smoothing head
Settings3 heat settings plus a cool shot
TechnologyCeramic coating with ionic function, per BaByliss
Warranty3 years, per BaByliss
Amazon referenceB0DDCHNPBR (identical on 5 markets)
EAN3030050185829

What people ask about this

Three barrels — is that useful or is it packaging?

It is useful when the diameters differ meaningfully, and here they do: 38 mm (1.50 in) for volume and shape, 25 and 20 mm (0.79 in) for shorter hair where a large barrel cannot complete a turn. The fourth attachment is a smoothing head, which is a different job again.

Does it rotate?

The listing does not say, and this page will not guess. Two of the other brushes in this group state automatic rotation explicitly; BaByliss describes attachments, power and settings but not the mechanism. If rotation matters to you, that is a question for the manual before ordering.

Our score

8.1/ 10

Four heads across three barrel diameters, where the Rowenta and the Remington carry two — with the rotation question left open by the maker.

Who this one is for, among grooming devices

Short and mid-length hair, where 20 and 25 mm (0.98 in) barrels do work that a 50 mm (1.97 in) cannot.

This model in our grooming devices guides

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for grooming tools and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

How these grooming devices are assessed here